A wonderful gift

This message recently landed in my inbox:

“I have been thinking of you and JT all year. With the new baby, I just have not reached out to you like I intended. I am truly sorry.

I am not sure the whole story, but I’ve seen your platform and JTs pics, (putting 2 and 2 together) Has he struggled with dyslexia? He is such a wonderful friend to my son … It hurts me to think he is having any kind of challenges. That being said, I really would love to be of support or help in any way? Can u educate me a little? With my little ones at home I’m not sure how I can help, but I thought I’d try to reach out and perhaps you need something that I’m capable of.”

Upon first glance…just skimming as I was rushing through the grocery…I thought this message was really sweet. Later, when I was actually able to read through the message I really appreciated the gentle, yet straightforward delivery and the recognition that while she may not understand our journey, she gets that it is a journey that impacts us and will continue to do so.

This made me think about my people, about all of the people in my life and how they have responded to our struggle. Some of my very close friends have been with me from day one…holding my hand, listening, sitting with me while I cry. And, then, other close friends rush past the topic and quickly change to a more comfortable one. Some family members have become educated and call with resources they’ve found and technology they’ve researched. While other family members avoid the topic like the plague. I think there are lots of issues out there that people just aren’t sure about how to approach. It makes them uncomfortable and likely the knowledge they have on the given subject is minimal, and it leaves them feeling ill equipped to start a discussion. Everyone reacts differently.

And, there are many parents who would rather not share with others and would like to keep things private. For someone on the outside of the struggle, it’s not always easy to tell if the person struggling wants to be approached or not. I, however, (if you haven’t guessed by now) am not one of those. We are “out” as a family about dyslexia. More than out, I am passionate about educating others and changing the face of education for dyslexics through DDIN, continuing to bring more parents into our parent group, and speaking to anyone who will listen about dyslexia and our story.

So, more than just being sweet…I saw this message as a huge breath of fresh air. I love that this friend reached out to say, I see that something is happening with you guys, I don’t completely understand it, but would welcome hearing more and being of any help that I can. What a gift she just gave me. Dyslexia isn’t a minor issue. Dyslexia is a part of one’s everyday life. Dyslexia can have an impact not only on the child’s educational life, but also on their social and emotional well being and on the financial well being of the family. It’s not a moment, it’s a journey. It’s a blessing to have people recognize and acknowledge the journey and offer their support as well.

“My friends and family are my support system. They tell me what I need to hear, not what I want to hear and they are there for me in the good and bad times. Without them I have no idea where I would be and I know that their love for me is what’s keeping my head above the water.” -Kelly Clarkson

May the God who gives endurance and encouragement give you a spirit of unity among yourselves as you follow Christ Jesus -Romans 15:5

This entry was posted in Dyslexia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment