Walking for Dyslexia

Last year I got the opportunity to volunteer for the Dyslexia Institute of Indiana (DII) by acting as the head team captain for their Walking for Dreams (WFD) Family & Pet fundraising event. I love a walk! While it is a great opportunity to raise money, it has the possibility to be so much more. I signed up my own team, The Dyslexia Warriors, as soon as registration was open!

I put together an email giving a brief description of dyslexia, my children’s struggles, and how we found help at DII. I asked for people to either join my team or make a donation. I then sent this email to my entire contact list as well as posting on Facebook and Twitter and good old fashioned asking in person. I was thrilled to gain 15 team members from those efforts…including my youngest sons preschool teacher and my middle sons school principal. What a blessing to have them both join our efforts and what an opportunity for them to be able to support us in this way. My principal ended up being the individual on my team who raised the most money…but, even better, was that for about 20 minutes of the event she walked side-by-side discussing education and dyslexia with the Director of DII, Rosie Hickle! What an opportunity to connect people.

The number of people who donated from my email was probably fewer than 15. I was blessed, though, with some checks in the mail from people on my list who I hadn’t seen for years…with notes attached saying things like “I love you and the boys and I hope this helps!” I also received a couple of phone calls from people who didn’t end up walking or donating…but, rather, they had questions about the description of my children’s struggles and how they were recognizing the same things in their own children and I was able to connect them with help. Every single person I contacted was introduced to dyslexia. What an opportunity to educate.

We had 11 teams sign up under DII, with creative names like: Operation DII, Failure is not an option, Dream Makers, Best Friends, and Evan’s Big Bang Dyslexics. Teams held bake sales, yard sales, and dancing for dollars events. Kid participants decorated coffee cans to carry around with them to neighbors and to family events to collect “change for dyslexia”. Not only did these events help to raise money, but at every single point of contact someone was introduced to dyslexia and what DII can do to help. What an opportunity to raise awareness.

On the day of the walk, Camp Delafield Director Cheslea Hodges and her team showed up with green (DII’s logo color) cowbells. Lea Storm and her Storm Troopers team had green light sabers. Rosie and her Dream Makers team had green flower leis. Kids on my team had green hair. Kris Parmelee and her team all showed up in super hero costumes! What an opportunity for our community to come together and celebrate!

The walk, which included 39 other area non-profit organizations, takes place along the beautiful Canal in Downtown Indianapolis. As we walked that 3 miles, walkers from all the organizations were spread along the course. While the average size of the other groups was 15 to 30 participants, we ended up having 145 registered participants and many other walk-ins on the actual day. Our group was huge and spread out all around the Canal. As we walked we could hear other organizations members saying “There are more of those green t-shirts.” and “What are they walking for?” and “Oh, they’re here for dyslexia.” and “Wow, their group is huge!”. What an opportunity to illustrate the numbers of dyslexia and that 20% are dyslexic.

As the walk came to a close, our teams gathered on the steps near Bugg’s Temple. Awards were passed out and thank you’s were shared and cowbells were rung! One of the Organizers for WFD came over and presented Rosie Hickle with an award for having the most participants any group had ever had in their 9 year history. When he asked how we had done it…it was another opportunity to share that 1 in 5 are dyslexic.

We weren’t just there to walk a course for fundraising. We were there to show the size and spirit of our community! We were there to celebrate dyslexia. And, we were there to raise awareness for the 1 in 5 who are dyslexic.

We’re doing it all again this year. DII is participating in WFD on Sunday, May 18th at 2pm on the Canal in downtown Indianapolis. Team Dyslexia Warriors is already signed up! If you want to support the efforts of DII, if you are a part of the dyslexia community, if you love someone with dyslexia…YOU HAVE TO BE THERE! Join us!

If you are too far to join…create your own walk. It doesn’t have to be a fundraiser…it can simply be a walk to raise awareness and support for the 1 in 5!

WFD1

wfd2

wfd3

wfd4

wfd5

wfd7

wfd8

This entry was posted in Dyslexia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment